unnamed (13).jpg

First Line Friday is hosted by Hoarding Bookswhere we share the first line or lines of a book we are currently reading or going to start soon.

Our first lines are to a Traveling Friends Group read.  Norma has finished reading and  Lindsay and I are going to be starting soon.

When I first saw the advertisement in the newspaper I thought I might actually burst.

Goodreads summary

Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent seem suddenly achievable. But the job turns out to be typist to the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs Bird is very clear: Any letters containing Unpleasantness—must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant letters from women who are lonely, may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men and found themselves in trouble, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write letters back to the women of all ages who have spilled out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels with Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are spirited and gutsy, even in the face of events that bring a terrible blow. As the bombs continue to fall, the irrepressible Emmy keeps writing, and readers are transformed by AJ Pearce’s hilarious, heartwarming, and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

img_6405

Have you read this one?  Want to read it? Please add your first line to a book you have started or going to start.  We love to hear from you!!!

19 thoughts on “First Line Friday: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce #travelingfriendsreads #BookBloggers

  1. carhicks says:

    Because I know the gist of the book, that first line really sets the stage. I am going to start it this week as well.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Great Carla! I hope you join in on the discussion!

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Looking forward to seeing y’alls thoughts on this one! Excellent post ladies!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Thank you, Christina!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Cozynookbks says:

    Nope, I haven’t read this one. I have been seeing it around quite a bit though.
    This is my first line from A Home Come True by Cheryl Harper:

    “Daydreaming about shoving a buttered dinner roll into Sarah Hillman’s mouth to keep her from laughing again was a sign that it was time to leave the party.”

    Liked by 3 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      That’s a great first line! Has me wanting to check out the book. Thank you for sharing your first line!

      Have a great weekend and Happy Reading!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Cozynookbks says:

        I loved that first line. 😂

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Another great read! My fave parts were Mrs.Bird’s responses to some of the women who wrote . 🤣

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      I am looking forward to diving into this one further. I will be looking out for those parts!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Enjoy! I will be looking forward to reading your review!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. L Lostinacoulee says:

        Thank you!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Just picked this one up from the library. It is my next library book to read…..Glad to hear it is a good one.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      I hope to see you on the threads Marialyce! I look forward to discus this one with you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I read and very much enjoyed “Dear Mrs. Bird”. The story was written with a kind of innocence. Emmy was very young, so she had a young person’s righteous and innocent world view. Her experiences were daunting, yet she remained true to herself and the people she loved. My review: https://fictionophile.wordpress.com/2018/05/31/dear-mrs-bird-by-a-j-pearce/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Thank so much for sharing your thoughts! I am going over to your review now!

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Naomi says:

    This book sounds like fun! (Despite the fact that there’s a war?)

    I love good first lines. The book I just finished has a good one: “This was the year the parents in my neighbourhood began killing themselves.” — That Time I Loved You by Carrianne Leung

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      That is a great first line. I will have to check the book out! Thank you for sharing with us!!

      Happy reading!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This sounds like a wonderful book!! I’ll have to add it to my (ridiculously long/never going to be completed in my lifetime) TBR!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Lol Too funny but I thinking its the truth! If only we could read as fast as we add.

      I hope you are able to knock off some great ones from your list!! Happy reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: