First Line Friday is hosted by Hoarding Books.  Where we share the first line or lines of a book we are currently reading or going to start soon.

Our First Line Friday is for a Traveling Sisters Group read that we are currently reading and it has a killer of an opening line that immediately hooked me!  I am almost finished and I am finding it a highly immersive read, Brenda and Lindsay will be starting it soon.  The ending is supposed to be jaw dropping and I can hardly wait for it!

Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

Goodreads Summary

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

img_6405

Have you read this one? Want to read it? Please add your first line to a book you have started or going to start. We would love to hear from you!!!

 

16 thoughts on “First Line Friday: Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent #travelingsistersread @SimonSchusterCA #BookBloggers

  1. That first line has sold it to me already – just ordered! Sounds like my perfect book! Will let you know how I get on 😊I’m currently reading Dawn French’s A Tiny Bit Marvellous, and (as expected) the first line is as hilarious as the rest of the book – “My mother is, like, a totally confirmed A-list bloody cocking minging arsehole cretin cockhead of the highest order.”

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Oh my that is some first line! LOL
      I just finished Lying in Wait and absolutely loved it!!! It was so good! 🙂
      I hope that you enjoy and love it too! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. The whole first ten pages were probably some of the funniest opening pages of any book I’ve read lol! I’ll make sure to tag you if I write anything when I finish 😁

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That would be awesome and thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This book is SO good! Can’t wait for the discussion.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. L Lostinacoulee says:

      SO excited to start this!! Looking forward to discussing with you Jonetta!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. macsbooks311 says:

    Love your review! This one sounds like a winner!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Thank you, Mackey! It sure is a winner!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha ha!! I haven’t read this book, but that first line is definitely fantastic! 😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      Such a great first line!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tiffany says:

    This one sounds interesting for sure! Even though this is not my usual choice I go for. Not sure I call this one a safe one, afraid to go to dark shadows that loom in books ~coming from a sensitive picky book reader hence my need to see these reviews before I dive in 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. B Lostinacoulee says:

      I haven’t finished this one yet but I will let you know for sure!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. carhicks says:

    Running behind with my reading blogs. This first line just reaches out and grabs you. I will watch for your review.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. It sure did and I finished it and absolutely loved it! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Freda says:

    You could definitely see your enthusiasm in tthe work you write.Most impoprtant point is choosing words

    Like

Leave a Reply to macsbooks311 Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: